Ebay Phishing Scam – Looks real – Beware!
April 27, 2006
I just received one of the best written Phishing scams which probably a lot of users over the internet must be receiving. Beware of this scam, as it takes your username and password and submits it to the scammer, who may then misuse your account. Here is a copy of the mail that I received:
*************************************************************************
From: aw-confirms@ebay.com
Subject: eBay Bid Cancelled.
| eBay sent this message to (xxxx@gmail.com). Your registered email address is included to show this message originated from eBay. Dear eBay Member,The bid that has been entered in error for the item ( 9717606598 ) has been cancelled. Regards, |
|||||
|
****************************************************************************
Looks real? I am sure it does, once you click on the Item Id, you are taken to a page where you have to enter your ebay username and password. Once you enter the username and password, you are eventually transferred to the real ebay site, where once again you will have to put in your username and password, this time its really with ebay…
The website where the information is collected is at this address http://0069dec.netsolhost.com/default.htm
I guess I figured out that this was a scam for the following reasons:
1. The website address in the toolbar is http://0069dec.netsolhost.com/default.htm and not with ebay.com domain
2. Authentic Ebay messages include the real name along with the ebay username in the header part, where this mail mentions the email address only.
Watch out for this scam and similar ones around the net!
Entry Filed under: Tech Support. .

Trackback this post | Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed